Skip to main content

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Diana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:11am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Please don't use your reviews to "aggravate" any patrons, thanks! You can imagine that would only make a situation worse.

Perhaps leaving an Error Report calling certain line-crossing review(s) into question could be a good way to go. Otherwise some possibly fixable problems might get missed. Thanks!

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2005-03-30 13:11:54

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Brad Leblanc Date: Mar 30, 2005 6:29am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Please don't use your reviews to "aggravate" any patrons, thanks! You can imagine that would only make a situation worse.

These will be deleted. Using the review section to attack/aggravate/comment on other patrons is not allowed.

You may respond to their comments and offer your own, but verbal vomit directed toward other patrons will be censored. This is about the only type of censorship on this website that we don't feel remorse for.

The curators have better things to do and I suspect most of them prefer not to get involved in censorship.

This comment is right on the money. If there's an error report on an item here asking for a review to be removed, it will have to be an extreme example of abuse before it will be considered. Just warning you - I know why you folks are looking for some action here, but it's really considered by the staff as a much bigger issue.

i am so tired of downloading a show with 4 or 5 stars to find out it sounds like my grandmother recorded it from her sewing room 5 miles away from the venue

Please do the community a favor and post these thoughts. There is a serious need for honest reviewers in this collection. Keep your criticisms civil and contructive, and let the rest of us know if there are issues with the sound or if the band had an off night. Too few people have the guts to do this, but the collection has gotten big enough to desperately need it.

-Brad

This post was modified by Brad Leblanc on 2005-03-30 14:29:19

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf2003 Date: Mar 30, 2005 8:07am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Thank you Brad - poingant (sp?) as usual - i could not agree with you more - hope alot of people read your post - peace all

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Ole Uncle John Date: Mar 30, 2005 10:44am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

After reading this string I decided to see who was in the hen house and read their reviews. I have included two of your (direwolf2003) "reviews" and want to ask do you think these are show reviews or part of the problem Brad was referring to??

March 28, 2005
Reviewer: direwolf2003
Subject: tito
Tito is always like this - entertaining in a sick way. The only thing bothering me is that he uses the word "pedophile" (et al) more than the lawyers in the Michael Jackson case. Look in the mirror dude - you just might need to answer some questions. btw - Phil and Friend is awesome - this is a good show - gotta agree that Phil kinda gotta stop singing at some point - sorry Phil, i love ya though. Re: one star rating - Tito that rating was for you not for a wonderful show

March 23, 2005
Reviewer: direwolf2003
Subject: tito and touch
Hey tito and touch - gotta agree with the other dude. You two are about as much true deadheads as my cat is a nuclear engineer. The number of shows you have seen has NO bearing on what type of deadhead you are. You two a pedestrian at best. I will admit you have had your points on some of your reviews. But your caustic attitude and faulty elitism comes nowhere near the true heads i know and respect. I fully understand that the two of you will read this and smirk, but ive seen around 200 shows and have hung with others from Cali who have been there since '74 - you two belong more with the metal crowd with your attitudes. I truly hope your real life attitudes do not reflect your obnoxious take on reviews and other people. Peace to you both (and maybe a few months supply of Wellbutrin).

Your reviews are by no means the worst of the 2 shows that I pulled them from, but you are the only one who's participating in this thread. My question being if we can't police ourselves how can we go around telling others what they can't write?
Just wondering.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf2003 Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:14am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

I couldnt agree more - i had two or three days or just kinda gettin aggravated at Tito's attitude. Those two posts are part of the problem - i think they are my only two like that. I used the review board to entertain myself and have since ceased - certainly not trying to be part of the problem - just got caught up in it for a couple of days.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Brad Leblanc Date: Mar 30, 2005 9:56pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Not sure if they are still there, but you can update/edit your reviews Mr. direwolf2003. :) Maybe go back and help us out?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:48pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Hey Brad - good idea - I will remove or edit those to clean up my mess. Should be done today (cant remember why I have two different login names - lol)

think i got rid of them - if any others get noticed let me know and i will delete them myself. My "ripple effect" reviews were certainly not intended to harm the integrity of this great site - thanks

This post was modified by direwolf0701 on 2005-03-31 07:48:47

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:19am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

This is what I was referring to as a "rebound" review.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf2003 Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:25am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

yeah - kinda wondering if it had anything to do with the beers i had been drinking? (naahhhhhh)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 8:39pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

I think of them as "ripple effect" reviews.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Brad Leblanc Date: Mar 30, 2005 10:04am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

> poingant (sp?) as usual

Hahaha! I know some of my posts come off a little sharp or abrasive. Trust me when I tell you I'm just trying to be clear.

Cheers,

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:22am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

-the curators have better things to be doing...-

I totally understand this, I just hope you didn't mind me starting this post. I think this was an 'extreme example' as you mentioned and the main review causing the stir DID get deleted. I think your main post, Brad should be posted somewhere else on the site so more people could read and digest it.

My, aren't we feeling productive today, archive!?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 6:30am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Right on.

Thanks, Brad.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:10am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

OK...didn't know we could do that! That would make sense, though. If, after analysis of the line-crossing reviews, you or another decided to take reviews off, can they be deleted?

And, what do you mean by "some possibly fixable problems might get missed"?

Thanks Diana!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:26am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

what do you mean by "some possibly fixable problems might get missed"?

I mean, even little stuff like "Hey, this is an AUD mislabeled as a SBD" or "The setlist is wrong" or "Song X is misspelled" or "I said no MP3 but they got made anyway" can go into an error report. As I browse shows I notice that sometimes people leave those reports as 1-3 star show reviews. Curators are likely to miss those, but the error report staff will see error reports, even the ones that they can't always act on right away. And meanwhile the stars on the report skew the rating unnecessarily.

"A couple people are running wild in the show reviews" may be a fixable problem if staff are given enough data, via Error Reports, to examine or correct the problem...

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2005-03-30 13:26:48

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:30am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Great! Now, if everyone reading this post and agreeing to the skewed ratings would file an error report on reviews that do not pertain to the actual recording, we will be getting somewhere. Then we can get more accurate ratings for the particular recordings we are researching! Meanwhile, if you want to speak your mind...post a new topic on the Forum!

Thanks Diana!!!!!!!!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:36am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Likely this particular item's amply covered with reports now. But there are thousands of items in the IA with reviews, and if there are a few bad ones among them they'll be hard for staff to pick out of the haystack to look at without some alert help.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:43am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Yes! You're speaking my language, Diana. We've gotta take action!!! I'm all worked up...where's the picket line?

:) LOL

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:53am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

where's the picket line?

Heh,
http://www.archive.org/audio/etreelisting-browse.php
or maybe even
http://www.archive.org/advancedsearch.php

You can get creative on the latter to patrol just certain areas, or even limit a search to items with a desired threshold number of reviews. (I'm guessing anything with 100+ reviews on it right now could have a flamewar in it. ;) )

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diana Hamilton Date: Mar 31, 2005 2:02am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

BTW in the advanced search, there are custom field choices for review "createdate" and "reviewdate". I don't know which would be better to filter on, but if things started hopping just recently, try filtering one of them for say, 3/10/05+.

I believe the field info for that would be:
is greater than, 2005-03-10

EDIT: 3/10+ kept crashing the search for me when I tried, but I just got 3/28+ range to work.

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2005-03-31 10:02:21

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 5:59am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Good deal. I'll enlist! Just make sure and verify my tax deduction for 2005 for my volunteer services!

HA!